SIMS XVII Conference

Abstracts & Proceedings


Conference Program

Conference Hotel

Travel Information



Poster Guidelines

Nominations-International Committee

Special Course in Chemometrics

Industrial Applications of SIMS Workshop-OCE


Social Activities



About Toronto

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sign up for updates

SIMS XVII Message Board


AVS Endorsed Technical Conference

SIMS XVII is being jointly organized by The University at Buffalo (New York, USA), The University of Toronto (Toronto, ON) and The University of Western Ontario (London, ON).

SIMS XVII Committees

International Scientific Program Committee
Finance Committee
International Organizing Committee
Local Arrangements Committee

SIMS Handbook for Conference Chairs and Prospective Conference Chairs Available
This handbook, developed by the SIMS International Committee, provides a structure to support the transparent operation of the conference series and to support the prosperity of the SIMS conference series. SIMS attendees will have the opportunity to vote on new members for the International Committee at the SIMS XVII meeting.
PDFDownload Handbook

Nominations for The International Committee (IC) are currently being accepted.
Learn more.


International Scientific Program Committee
Joseph Gardella, Co-Chair
State University of New York at Buffalo, USA
Rana Sodhi, Co-Chair
University of Toronto, Canada
Leo Lau, Co-Chair
Surface Science Western, University of Western Ontario, Canada
Anna Belu
Medtronic, USA
Thomas Beebe
University of Delaware, USA
Alex Brennenstuhl
Ontario Power Generation Inc., Canada
Paula Clark

Muhlenberg College, PA, USA

Albert Fahey
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

Mostafa Fajek

University of Manitoba, Canada

Luke Hanley

University of Illinois at Chicago

Laurent Houssian
University of Namur (FUNDP), Belgium

Latif Kazim

Roswell Park, USA

Yangsun Kim

Maldiplate, Inc.

Ulli Krull

University of Toronto, Canada

Yeonhee Lee

Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

Antonino Licciardello

University of Cantania, Italy

Christine Mahoney

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

David McPhail
Imperial College

James Metson

The University of Auckland New Zealand

Keith Mitchell

University of British Columbia, Canada

Gary Mount

Evans Analytical Group

Michaeleen Pacholski

Rohm and Haas Company

Peter Sjovall

SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden, Chemistry and
Materials Technology, Sweden

Roger Smart

University of South Australia

Fred Stevie

North Carolina State University, USA

Maryam Tabrizian

McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Amy Walker

Washington University in St. Louis, USA

John Watts

University of Surrey, UK

Klaus Wittmaack

Helmholtz Zentrum München, German Research Center for Environmental Health, Institute of Radiation Protection

Peter Williams
Arizona State University, USA

Cha Liang Zhen

Tsinghua University, China


Finance Committee

Leo Lau

University of Western Ontario, Canada

Greg Gillen

Rowland Hill

Ionoptika Limited, UK


International Organizing Committee

Cha Liang Zhen

Tsinghua University, China

Ian Gilmore

National Physical Laboratory, UK

Greg Gillen


Masahiro Kudo

Seikei University, Japan

Birgit Hagenhoff

Tascon GmbH, Germany

Dae Won Moon

Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea

Fred Stevie

North Carolina State University, USA

Wilfried Vandervorst

IMEC, Belgium

John Vickerman

University of Manchester, UK

Nick Winograd

Pennsylvania State University, USA


Local Arrangements Committee

Ron Dewer

Meeting Management Services, Canada

Paul Robinson

Datacomp Electronics, Inc.

Suzie Poulin
École Polytechnique, Canada

Mark Priebe

Systems for Research, Canada
Rana Sodhi
University of Toronto, Canada

David Wells

University at Buffalo, USA

SIMS XVII Conference Secretariat: Ron Dewar - Meeting Management Services - (905) 335-7993 or (800) 625-7925 -

SIMS XVII Conference Co-Chairs: Dr. Joseph Gardella, Jr., University at Buffalo
Dr. Rana Sodhi
, University of Toronto
Dr. Leo Lau, University of Western Ontario